Nourishing Creativity
Nourishing Creativity with Chef Carla Contreras (formerly Show Up Fully)
Episode 93: Visibility, Self-Love, and Stepping into Your Future Self with Chef Carla Contreras as a guest on Dear Self with Love
2
0:00
-18:14

Episode 93: Visibility, Self-Love, and Stepping into Your Future Self with Chef Carla Contreras as a guest on Dear Self with Love

"Visibility is not always easy for me despite being on two cooking TV shows including Chopped! on the Food Network." — Chef Carla Contreras
2

This week’s episode is a repost from my friend

and her Dear Self With Love Substack. Note: This was not supposed to be a podcast. Jenna originally sent me a Google Form asking me to share my experience as a Dear Self With Love planner user. My intuition instantly wanted to respond to these questions, but instead of typing the answers out; I connected my computer to my microphone, put my headphones on, and hit record (and let’s be honest, did a few practice sessions).

I knew I wanted to use my voice, in a big and bright way that shows you who I am, imperfections and all. Visibility is not always easy for me despite being on two cooking TV shows including Chopped! on the Food Network. My comfort zone lies in interviewing others. This time, I decided to try the other side of the mic and answer Jenna’s questions. As you will hear, this is more than just a planner. It is a way to approach life and offers a deep connection to Jenna and her community.

Listen to the episode on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, or your favorite podcast platform.

What’s in This Episode:

Jenna first asks me to share more about what I do. As a Food Stylist, Content Strategist, and Podcast Host, I talked about how I support my clients to see content creation as a dream world — a space to play and invent. I teach them to listen to their tiny whispers that come from inside them vs. seeing me as a marketing guru telling them what they should do. In my opinion, content is really energy. If you've ever experienced someone telling you that they "love your energy," it's exactly that! Creating the channel for your unique energy to be expressed.

Jenna invites me to share my personal definition of self-love. For me, it's layered and nuanced. It encompasses things that I wouldn't have answered, even just a few months ago. It's loving ALL the parts of me, including those that aren't perfect, get it wrong, and are experiencing feelings like deep grief. It's accepting all those parts so that I can show up to work, to create content from the most honest place possible.

Jenna wraps up with a future-based question — "How are you supporting your future 2025 self currently?" Deciding to use my voice and get vulnerable with Jenna's community (and you) is how I'm taking care of my future self presently. Being visible is something that I teach my 1:1 content strategy clients, participants of The Content Retreat, and members of my new Confident Content Collective. Recording these responses was me leaning into my future self, stepping into a new chapter of my own visibility. Curious, tell me in the comments, how are you leaning into your future self, what does it look like to step into their shoes?

Topics Covered:

My definition of self-love and how it’s changing through a challenging season

What’s my definition of content and how it can support you and your dreams

My journey with the Dear Self With Love Planner over the past two years

My two favorite parts memorables (as a way to connect with my kids) and mirror affirmations

Using the planner as a practice to end my months and cast out my future self

Writing the year ahead letter as part of my practice and forgetting the “special place” I put it

We can’t wait to hear your thoughts about this episode. Leave a comment below!

Leave a comment

PS: If these ideas and concepts around creating content from an aligned place interest you. I invite to join us live online for the preview of opening day of The Content Retreat Saturday 9/21/24 and if it’s aligned join us for the full experience Sunday 9/22/24.

Here is the Content Retreat Schedule (all times are EST)

Saturday 9/21/24

4 p.m.–4:30 p.m.: Welcoming circle: The Confident Content Framework

4:30 p.m.–5:30 p.m.: Connecting to Being Seen and Lucid Living with

: Artist, Spiritual Alchemist, and Modern Curandera

5:30 p.m.–6:30 p.m.: Breathwork for Activating Visibility with

: Soul Leader, Breathwork Guide, and Reiki Master 

6:30 p.m.–7 p.m.: Closing circle and wrap-up

Sunday 9/22/24

9 a.m.–-9:15 a.m.: Opening Circle & Cacao Ritual: Connecting to Your Why

9:15 a.m.–10:15 a.m.: The Content Mind Map & Aligned 90-Day Plan with

& Carla Contreras

10:15 a.m.–10:30 a.m.: Coffee break

10:30 a.m.–12:00 p.m.: Focused + Flow Sprint with feedback

12:00 p.m.–12:30 p.m.: Connection, sharing, and support 

12:30 p.m.–1:30 p.m.: Nourishing lunch & stretch break

1:30 p.m.–3 p.m.: Focused + Flow Sprint with feedback

3 p.m.–-3:15 p.m.: Coffee break

3:30 p.m.–4 p.m.: Closing circle and wrap-up

Join My Community:

Disclaimer: Always seek the counsel of a qualified medical practitioner or other healthcare provider for an individual consultation before making any significant changes to your health, lifestyle, or to answer questions about specific medical conditions. This podcast is for entertainment and information purposes only.

Discussion about this podcast

Nourishing Creativity
Nourishing Creativity with Chef Carla Contreras (formerly Show Up Fully)
Nourish your creative life by listening to interviews with creatives and entrepreneurs how they create move through their creative blocks. Chef Carla Contreras is a food stylist and content strategist. Head to @chefcarlacontreras on Instagram to continue the conversation! Find her at www.carlacontreras.com